Things my Mother should have told me before I became a woman…

My mom was a fantastic mother but there were things she didn’t tell me that I would have liked to have learned before I grew up.  Here are a few…

Although I have taught  you to be mature, it doesn’t mean everyone was taught to be…

You are going to make a lot of mistakes and bad decisions but that doesn’t make you a bad person…

Compassion is not a bad thing, but show too much too soon and ppl may take advantage of you…

You have to always be three ppl, the person you are to the world, the person you are to your family and yourself.  The most important of three but the least likely to be excepted is the latter…

You won’t begin to discover who you are until at least 30…

You probably won’t have great sex until 25 because from your first day until then all guys will probably only know one speed, fast.  Sleeping with a guy up until that point will be like fumbling around in the dark looking for a light switch in someone else house…

You will know the words to all songs about heart-break from the time you started dating until you find the one…

The one isn’t perfect, don’t try to make him perfect because you won’t love a flawless man because you’re not…

Accept ppl for who they tell you they are…

Believe half of what you see and none of what you hear, only what you feel…

There is no such thing as perfect and Best, they are only illusions created to make sure you do the best YOU can, but second ain’t half bad…

Every Adult isn’t Grown, some are just old…

Temper tantrums don’t always stop at terrible twos, some ppl have terrible 20s, 30s, 50s and even 80s…

Love is a verb not a noun, it’s something you do, not say…

You can feel love everyday of your life, as long as you love yourself…

You can’t receive anything with a closed mind, hand or heart…

Size does matter…  (Yeah, I said it)

His feet can be Huge and other things, not so much…

His feet can be small and other things be SOOOO much…

You can’t make anyone do anything…

Sometimes you won’t like your children…

We all mess up our kids a little…

Don’t pull his finger…

The rest of an “Eye for an eye…” (vengeance is mine saith the Lord)…

You can’t sleep when you’re Angry…

Let go of hurt, anger and sadness, the person making you feel that way, isn’t thinking about you or losing sleep over what they did.  You shouldn’t either…

You have two ears and one mouth for a reason…

Never drink to forget…

There is no hair of the dog that bit you, only his teeth…

You showed them you were smarter when you walked away…

You don’t have to always fight for what you want… that’s why I have boobs  :)

7 thoughts on “Things my Mother should have told me before I became a woman…

    1. Aw thanks, missed you too. I am watching my oldest try and transition into becoming her own woman. I look at my (soon to be) 15 year old and wonder where the time went. My youngest is pulling up the rear. As they get older and they start to realize that I am not the “most enlightened, beautiful, smartest” woman in the world and that I am fallible, that I am not the Wizard of OZ, just some old man hiding behind the curtain with no answers at all… I began to think about the advice my mother has given (still gives, even though it is unsolicited but most times accurate), I wondered what she left out that I need to given to my daughters. I am printing out that blog and turning it into a poster to give to her when she graduates High School in 3 years (can’t believe her Freshman Year of HS is almost over).

  1. My Mom had some moments like that recently I am the baby of my family and in my mid 20’s and she turned to me and asked “Was there something I never taught you that you thought I should have?” I told her she should have taught us all that no matter what people say, it doesn’t make their words truth, regardless of WHO they are. And To always believe in myself even when its against the odds. These are things I have slowly discovered over the last few years but had I realized my potential in HS, I might have saved myself a lot of trouble (haha)

    HAHA! Houses can take forever! But I am glad it got finished and you are settling in!!

    1. Honey don’t believe it, if you didn’t go through the crap YOU did in HS, it would have been some other crap, lol. We go through stages and changes all through life. I remember thinking that I couldn’t wait to get out of HS. Then I couldn’t wait to get married, then I could wait to live in my own home, couldn’t wait for my girls to talk. Now I can’t wait for them to graduate and to live alone, lmao.

      If you had the insight you have now in HS you would have went a different path… just remember DIFFERENT isn’t always better. Sometimes it’s just different.

      Later Days,
      -K

  2. Mostly if I had just believed in myself in HS I wouldnt have been so damn shy, and in being shy I would never even go near the edge of my comfort zone, I didnt want to be noticed, so I didn’t “try” in school I was average. Being above average would have either made me crazy or gotten me into a different career field– and I became crazy with time regardless :D Don’t get me wrong I wouldnt change my past- it happened for a reason every second of it, I also do not dislike who I’ve become, simply had I tried harder maybe I wouldnt have to fight so hard to prove myself to everyone else.

    1. I hear what you are saying but show me a teenager that doesn’t have self esteem issues and I will show u a lying ass teenager, lol. All teenage girls have issues, some just cover better than others. I always referred to myself as the “invisible kid” when I lived at home because no matter what I did my sister’s antics always out-shined whatever good grades, groups I joined or committees I was the head of… HS school is like anything other experience in life, a learning experience. Besides if you knew all this in HS, you wouldn’t find me soooo damn funny, lmbao. I am going to spend all of next week catching up on you guy’s madness blogs. TTYL

      -K

Leave a Reply

