I did it…

Not that you pervs. I met Raleigh in person. No catfish here, he wasn’t a serial killer or an axe murderer. He was a complete gentleman and he followed my lead in the PDA department. We had a great weekend and I was really sad to see him go.  I know you’re waiting for it… the other shoe to drop. Well he’s pessimistic.  He has had shitty relationships and because of it he is constantly waiting for this to blow up in his face.  He often asks what I see in him or worries about me ditching him and all the reassurance in the world isn’t working.  He’s so worried about pushing me away, that he’s pushing me away.

I’m trying not to get frustrated or annoyed but it is really bugging me.  We’re like the episode of SaTC when Adian and Carey first start dating and she keeps wondering what’s wrong with him. Only with Raleigh, he’s always worries he’s going to say or do something wrong. 

Being the sole caregiver of two sick parents for over a decade teaches you to Carpe Diem. My life literally changes in an instant, daily. Because of this I don’t worry about what happens next, so this causes conflict in our relationship. His visit has actually made this worse because it has taken the distance from hypothetical to actual.  It has made me a living breathing person that he cares about.  Thankfully he isn’t worrying about me finding someone else and leaving him because if he did, that added to his other unfounded fears would be the death of our relationship.

I want to sit back and just let everything take it’s course because I know what this feels like on the other side.  This guy I was really into just had a “devil may care” attitude and to him I may have seemed like Raleigh.  Always anxious, always worried this would blow up in my face.  He wasn’t patient or considerate to my relationship PTSD.  I ended up ending it because I felt the guy didn’t care enough. Truth is I was driving him insane constantly looking for reassurance.  Little did he know, had he have just gave me just a little more attention. Held my hand just a little tighter, I would have snapped out of it.  I know this because a few months later I did.  I think he will too, not because I plan on bestowing poems, flowers and kinds words upon him but just because when he relaxes and sees after a few more months, I’m not going anywhere. That I can get angry and that not mean the end of us,  he’ll start to have more faith. I also think the times we visit will make the time apart easier… if he doesn’t I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it, carpe diem remember 😉

Love and Later days,

-K 

Leave a Reply

